IMG 20191202 222152
Lionel Messi have won the 2019 Ballon d’Or making him the first player to win the award a record six times. Juventus and Portugal star, Cristiano Ronaldo finished a disappointing 3rd behind Virgil van Dijk and Lionel Messi the winner of the award. 
IMG 20191202 222225
Ronaldo the second runner up who was absent in the event has shown sines of slowing down since the beginning of 2019 season at Juventus, making many to believe that the five time Baloon d’Or winner is winding down his illustrious career.
Messi and Ronaldo are close rivals since 2997 when Messi came third and Ronaldo second behind Kaka the winner of the award that year.
IMG 20191202 222031
Here is the full list of 2019 Ballon d’Or winners below:
The winners and other top finishers in the four trophies awarded at the 2019 Ballon d’Or ceremony on Monday in Paris:
Men’s Ballon d’Or
1. Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)
2. Virgil van Dijk (NED/Liverpool)
3. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus)
4. Sadio Mane (SEN/Liverpool)
5. Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)
6. Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG)
7. Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool)
8. Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich)
9. Bernardo Silva (Portugal Manchester City)
10. Riyad Mahrez (ALG/Manchester City)
Women’s Ballon d’Or
1. Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)
2. Lucy Bronze (ENG/Lyon)
3. Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride)
4. Ada Hegerberg (NOR/Lyon)
5. Viviane Miedema (NED/Arsenal)
6. Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon)
7. Sam Kerr (AUS/Chicago Red Stars)
8. Rose Lavelle (USA Washington Spirit)
9. Ellen White (ENG/Manchester City)
10. Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER/Lyon)
Kopa Trophy
(Best player under 21 on December 31)
1. Matthijs de Ligt (NED/Ajax Amsterdam then Juventus)
2. Jadon Sancho (ENG/Borussia Dortmund)
3. Joao Felix (POR/Benfica then Atletico Madrid)
Yashin Trophy
(Best goalkeeper, presented for the first time)
1. Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool)
2. Marc-Andre ter Stegen (GER/FC Barcelona)
3. Ederson (BRA/Manchester City)

Leave your thoughts

Copyright @2021.